top of page

Trouble with close friends after a break-up

Re:

Re: I have just passed through a fresh break up ... A very important onewhich has left a greatly negative impact on me - I can't seem to move on over the person and worse thing is that both me and my ex are in the same group of friends - I m finding myself searching desperately to avoid both him and our friends and I m not opening up to anyone - schoolwork hasn't been going well either lately ... but I was trying to gather up the pieces .. now one of my best friends has shown up telling me that another friend of mine was seen making out with my ex and I m scared that they might end up together, just a few days away from our break up ... is it wrong if I'm starting to avoid any sort of contact with either of them even though both mean the world to me?

Whether youve been dating for a month or a year- it'll still be hard.Moving on is a matter of acceptance. You need to accept that your relationship with that person has changed. It will be hard and painful at first to see them and act like nothing's wrong but as they say, time heals all wounds and what time doesnt heal, you heal yourself.

It's never okay to keep hanging on to the past, wallowing in sadness takes a toll on your heart. Releasing your pain through crying is the most cleansing of all routines - but it's important not to make this a habit. Little by little, you have to move on... and taste the bittersweet coffee. Since youre in the same group if friends it might be slightly harder but dont feel as if you have to abandon your friends because of him. Avoiding a person is worse sometimes- youll end up thinking of them more if youre so intent on avoiding them. Also, about your friend, be careful about the rumours you hear, if its not something definite dont worry too much about it. However, you should have an honest conversation with your friend and ask her about it, its the only way you'll be able to make peace with what has happened and move on with your life. Also, please bear this in mind. Pick up the pieces yourself, do not rely on others to do it for you and take this entire experience as a lesson for relationships that are yet to come. Sincerely yours, The Advice Team

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page